I have just finished a project at school involving the creation of an auction website together with Access programs.
But at school it is generally known that I am about as anti-Windows as you’re going to get and due to the restrictions that were placed upon this project, I was dismayed at the changes I had to make in order to participate.

We were forced to use MS SQL over MySQL and the use of Access over other techniques.
Before long I found myself having to install Windows XP on VMWare in order to run MS SQL and Access.

But now I wish to share with you a developing project I have just stumbled upon, which may be of interest to some of you who are not as restricted.

GNU/Linux now has a program which does much of the same things as MS Access does.

Please check out The Kexi Project, a fantastic open-source alternative.

According to the website, this program boasts the following:”Kexi is a Free/Libre and Open-Source integrated data management application, a long awaited Open Source competitor for products like Microsoft Access. Kexi can be used for creating database schemas, inserting data, performing queries, and processing data. Forms can be created to provide a custom interface to your data. All database objects – tables, queries and forms – are stored in the relational database, making it easy to share data and design”

