I want to rant a little.
No hate though, but something that slightly irritates me, and perhaps you can relate to.

Being a member of the Python and Linux community on Google+, I see a lot of new users come and ask for advice.
One question asked, and it’s responses really sums up my irritation:

Question: ‘I am new to Python and Linux, and would like to start learning. Which version of Python should I use, and should I use Ubuntu or CentOS?’

Well that’s an easy question right.
Let’s look at what the poster told us about himself. He is NEW to BOTH Linux and Python.
So what we ought to suggest is something perfect for a new user.

For those not in the know, Python is currently split between Python 2.7, and Python 3.x.
The reason for this is that there are such big differences when Python 3 was introduced, that a lot of third party libraries and extensions no longer work. As a result, a lot stuck with Python 2.7 for that support.

But considering this user isn’t dependent on third-party libraries (he is new), we should suggest the newest version 3. After all, there will come a time we all must switch.

Then there is the Linux question.
I am a long time (12+ years) Linux user having used pretty much every distro.
Currently a Fedora user, which shares it’s core base with CentOS, I can say without doubt that Ubuntu is the most easy to use distro, with a fantastic community if a new user get’s stuck.

Well, it did not take long or the subject of IDE’s was introduced.
I’m a Python developer, and I always recommended PyCharm. After all, it’s a modern IDE specifically built for Python, but with plugins for other languages. I even liked it better than Sublime.

Then this really annoying phenomena happened.
In what I can only imagine is a means of self-boasting, and trying to be seen as some kind of master of Linux, the following suggestions started to appear for a new user:

Answer:’I recommend using Arch Linux because it is so robust and rolling release. And the IDE you want to use is VIM’

I can’t really swear on here, but needless to say, my head exploded.
Who in their right mind can recommend a new user to Linux to use the most difficult to set up Linux distrobution, which relies heavily on the Terminal? A new user has most likely never touched the terminal, and you are suggesting he use a terminal for EVERYTHING.
And to top it all off, suggesting he use the most difficult editor available?

I have worked on VIM quite a bit (Fedora doesn’t come with nano preinstalled), but I personally rather install Nano.
You may love VIM, but let’s be honest, it’s far too old to be taken serious as a development environment when we live in an age of GUI’s.

And that is exactly what is wrong with the Linux community.
More and more relatively new users want to feel superior by using distro’s like Arch Linux, just for the 1337 factor.
That’s all fine, Arch is a good distro (I’ve used it too), but for more advanced users.
Suggesting really difficult OS’s, and tools to new users is only to try and make yourself seem more impressive than you really are.

So let’s do ourselves, and those asking for help a favour:
Let’s take THEM as the case file. After all, they have to use the tools we provide, not yourself.
Place yourselves in their shoes. Bring yourself back to the first time you used Linux, would you rather have been using Arch and VIM, knowing it may well put you off forever, or use Ubuntu and a modern IDE built for a specific job?

